Colleen Ladd / Uncategorized

Facebook and Finals Week: A Dissipation Proclamation (Colleen Ladd)

It’s finals week. A time for overloading tweets, Facebook statuses and excessive mobile uploads with college students’ pets posing mid-action around his or her overpriced textbooks.

I don’t know if you notice it, but I’m starting to see a #trend.

According to Nielson, Americans spent a total of 53.5 billion minutes on Facebook in May 2011. With a lot of math done from the website ZD Net (hey, I’m a writing major), Americans spent an average of 12.30 minutes on Facebook every day in May.

With all due respect to the author, Emil Protalinski, I don’t seem to think that fits for college students, or at least in the UCF area, and old awkward high school peers back home. Logging in has become even more entertaining than going people watching at a Star Wars Convention (although, I would fancy a light saber throw-down with a complete stranger).

With Facebook, I can now flip through countless status updates of mediocre thoughts, pretentious epiphanies and unnecessary statements of mundane activities. I can be immediately informed of each and every action of the 1,705 of my closest friends and never miss a beat. Sorority poses that throw off my equilibrium, fraternity bros’ bromantical wall posts that give me deer-in-headlight eyes, sonograms posted by hometown stick-a-rounds and a partridge in a pear tree — you get where I’m going. Facebook is an infinite cycle of addicts and their self-proclaimed glamorous lifestyles.

I’m not going to say I haven’t uploaded a picture of me passed out, fake drooling with my roommates’ dog (that I took myself) but I figure I have to add into the insanity to keep my fellow friends entertained, like they do for me.

I couldn’t imagine the statistics for college students alone on Facebook, and even more so during their so-called cram sessions during finals week. Statistics could produce justifiable numbers if they counted the minutes it took the university stickered car in front of them to step on the gas after the light turned green, the duration of the phone scrolling from the girl in the corner of the party and the libraries’ logged history of each and every computer offered to students.

And considering I am posting this article onto my profile once it’s published — we’ll throw in another 5-6 minutes of your time.

Leave a Reply

