Colleen Ladd / Uncategorized

Hello, Can Anyone Even Hear Me? (Colleen Ladd)

Am I the only one in my generation, besides the epileptic, who doesn’t enjoy dubstep music?

I’ll admit, in the beginning I tried to play along. I even attended a few festivals in the Orlando area. I bopped my head to the reminiscent laser tag sounds from my childhood. I moved my body, in ways no body should ever move, to warfare blasts from Megatron and Optimus Prime in their boundless battling transformer rivalry (which may be the reason I ever attempted to appreciate dubstep in the first place).

Coming from a girl who has a tattoo of music notes behind her ear, not liking a certain type of music that most people around me take fond of is a pretty bold and genuine statement. I am a type of person who invites new music into embracing ears and makes a hobby out of that very action. Finding new music to me is like rediscovering my love and gratitude for people and their amazing abilities with sound and melody. So why not dubstep?

I enjoy a select few dubstep songs, but call me crazy; I’m not going to put it on in the morning to start the day or press play at the end of a hard one in hopes of falling asleep to the nurturing sounds of grumbling bass and electronic shrills. I think a main reason why I don’t enjoy dubstep, unlike my peers, is my lack of ambition to “enhance” the performance with a drug.

I remember the first time I heard the term “Molly.” When it was mentioned, I inherently found myself questioning, “Who the hell is Molly and why is everyone ‘taking’ her?”

Molly, scientifically known as methylenedioxymethamphetamine or MDMA, is a synthetic, psychoactive drug that is chemically similar to the stimulant methamphetamine and the hallucinogen mescaline. MDMA produces feelings of increased energy, euphoria, emotional warmth and distortions in time, perception and tactile experiences.

With that being stated, I’m pretty sure I could pop some Molly and listen to William Hung sing his memorable tune and “feel his words, bro.”

For me, I like music to make me feel; not to take a harmful drug to find the feeling. It’s like taking the time to make a home cooked meal versus ordering fast food. It takes effort. You wait for it longer. But in the end, when you consume — it is way more satisfying than a quick fix that leaves you feeling depressed, confused and regretful.

Whatever your reason for listening to dubstep… good for you. Maybe you do find robotic combat soothing or a good excuse to dance at a club the way you know you shouldn’t. Maybe you don’t take Molly for a ride and genuinely enjoy apocalyptic music.

Or maybe you’re like me, a lone music ranger with taste buds that go sour to dubstep. Or maybe not so lonely with my newfound seizure posse.

Leave a Reply

